Nathan Bond's TART Remarks

Religion: Respect? Ridicule!

Praise Jesus! I am reborn!

with 2 comments

Last night I simply could not sleep. I lay awake for hours, tossing and turning. My life of the recent past – lived mostly in rebellion against God and his bride, the Church of Jesus Christ – haunted me. Something serious had been amiss in my life for a long time. The raw wounds where I was torn from the body of Christ ached with emotive fervour.

When exactly it happened I can not say with certitude. But in the small hours of the night, when it is darkest still and man’s dependence on God is clearer than the noonday sun, I found myself on my knees beside the bed, weeping in astonishment of God’s loving kindness in drawing a wretch like me to His everlasting bosom in love unbridled.

I knew with absolute certainty – a certainty that I have never before experienced; never thought possible in the logical positivist post modern cesspool of my rotten thoughts and deeds – that Jesus was the answer indeed. The question somewhat eluded me at the time, but it was, for once, a time of answers, not of questions.

I wrestled with my God, like Jacob of old. He tossed with me and turned, yet on my knees I was taller then ever a mother’s son stood in battle.

In that moment before daybreak, God finally revealed his Almighty glory to me. I was born of God’s spirit anew. Troubles and concerns fell aside like dewdrops of a duck. I was a new man.

I am a new man.

May God Almighty grant you a blessed April Fool’s Day.

Praise Jesus!

Written by Nathan Bond

March 31, 2008 at 22:34

Posted in Religion must go!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmmmmm… ek het ‘n epos of twee ontvang van mense wat oorstelp was van vreugde dat God toe wel uiteindelik ingegryp het.
    Jaaa, boet.
    God moet my maar liefs laat brand en ‘n paar honger kinders in Afrika voer.

    Nathan Bond

    April 2, 2008 at 21:04

  2. jissis ek dog net daar is iets los upstaires!!!!

    dirkvdwest

    April 2, 2008 at 17:09


Leave a Reply

