Nathan Bond's TART Remarks

Religion: Respect? Ridicule!

Shofar and yet so close

leave a comment »

A correspondent sent me a Member Copy of Shofar’s Statement of Faith [Detach and hand to new member] yesterday. I read in stunned realisation that there is nothing in the Statement that members of the AFM and the NGK and its various “sisters” (susterkerke) and “daughters” (dogterkerke) should find objectionable.

They all of ‘em – so-called mainstream churches and sects and fanatical dullards – believe the exact same crap*. They all of ‘em – so-called mainstream churches and sects and fanatical dullards – are equally delusional.

Sam Harris has something to say about this.

“Believers” should be careful in castigating Shofar, noisome as it is. “Believers” should consider the Christ’s caveat regarding ostensibly disparate foreign objects in eyes. Perhaps we – those like me and those like Christ – can somehow join in erasing the common delusion?

* “Mainstream” tithing and baptism and Communion are nothing if not somewhat weird…

_________________________

Afrikaans

‘n Korrespondent stuur my gister ‘n Member Copy van Shofar se Statement of Faith [Detach and hand to new member] en ek lees en ek ril.

Nie omdat ek aan die inhoud walg nie, maar omdat ek in die Statement níks lees wat die AGS en die NGK en sy sussies en dogters behoort te ontstig nie!

Shofar glo maar net dieselfde kak wat die AGS en die NGK en die Watôkals glo. Selle poedieng, net ‘n ander sous.

Shofar dóén kennelik ‘n spul vréémde* goed, so hoor ek van my ateïstiese én my gelowige korrespondente… maar “gewone gelowiges”, is net duidelik net so delusional soos die fanatici.

Sam Harris het ‘n paar goed hieroor te sê.

Gelowiges moet maar versigtig wees om Shofar – ‘n bedenklike lot – te erg te kritiseer, en dalk maar aan die Christus se vermaning oor die splinter en die balk dink. En perdalkies kan ons tesame – die wat soos ek is en die wat soos Christus is – die waansin hokslaan?

* “Hoofstroom” tiendes en besprinkleling en onderdompeling en voetewassery en klein bietjie wyn en brood is ôk ma’ fôkkin vreemd…

Written by Nathan Bond

April 5, 2008 at 14:19

Posted in Religion must go!

Leave a Reply

