Nathan Bond's TART Remarks

Religion: Respect? Ridicule!

Introduce me!

with 6 comments

This contribution contains strong language. Reader discretion is advised. See Profanity.

I first took up the pen against religion on January 18, 2003 in a letter to the Afrikaans daily Die Burger.

It’s been five years, eight months and five days.

Today, having browsed the comments on my blog and the comments on my earlier web contributions on LitNet and Kletskerk, I have this specific demand: That somebody – anybody – introduce me to “God”.

I want to meet “God”. No further delays!

I don’t want shit like “he can be seen in the smile of a child” or “just look at the Baberton daisy”. And I certainly don’t want fucking shit like the X formation in the M51 galaxy and the cross formation of the laminin molecule.

I want to meet “God” face to face. I want “God” to take time out of his schedule to come see me personally, look me in the eye, identify himself and put out his bloodied right hand so I can shake it.

Can someone please introduce me?

Or is it asking too much?

By the way, I am not pig-headed. If “God” shows his mug and pulls a white rabbit out of nowhere – anywhere but a top hat – I’ll accept him, or, hopefully, her, and become a believer. I’ll go where the evidence leads. Will you?

Written by Nathan Bond

September 23, 2008 at 09:11

Posted in Religion must go!

Tagged with ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nathan, I never said God is every person. I said God is in every person (Emanual – God with us). As Jesus, when you see me, you see the Father, so if you see a member of His body, you see Him. You don’t want to accept the fact, that you can shake His “hand”, as it is so simple, a child can understand, yet it confuses you “wise” guy’s. What I have shown you, you are not able to contradict, so you rather chose to ignore it.
    You are free to make your own choices in life, I respect that, so respect the fact that I and most others, have chosen religeon.

    Hans Matthysen

    September 24, 2008 at 21:02

  2. Nathan Bond wrote (23 Sep 08 at 10:52 am):

    Con

    You say the nicest things!

    Thanks, though in truth, affability was not topmost on my mind when I wrote the comment. Veracity was. I’d intended the “you” to be read as a general address to anyone paying attention, i.e. the “you” said by a public speaker.

    Con-Tester

    September 23, 2008 at 23:14

  3. Hans

    God is love; God is the word; God is truth; God is light (understanding); God is every person; God is life; God is spirit… God is everything except something I can shake by the hand!?

    Nah! I want to shake god by the hand. Bring god on!

    Nathan Bond

    September 23, 2008 at 22:37

  4. Nathan, you have met God many times and you have not accepted Him, because He reveals Himself, through sinful flesh. What you do unto the least of His, you do unto Him.
    God is love, or have you never experianced love.
    God is the word, yet you chose not to accept that fact.
    God is truth, or have you never experianced truth.
    God is light (understanding), and through conversation (words) we are enlightened and receive understanding.
    Every time you meet a fellow person, you are face to face with God. When you shake hands with me, you shake God’s hand, as I am but one of His hands, He uses, to get His work done and so are there many Hands like me.
    God is life and the life, is the light (understanding) of man. One who does not have understanding (light), is still in darkness.
    God is spirit, therefore you must become spiritualy minded (reborn).
    If you perceive God to be something els, then you have an incorrect perception, than what is written in the Bible.

    Hans Matthysen

    September 23, 2008 at 22:21

  5. Con

    You say the nicest things!

    Nathan Bond

    September 23, 2008 at 10:52

  6. Shake hands with yourself. That’s the closest thing to god you’ll ever meet.

    Con-Tester

    September 23, 2008 at 10:15


Leave a Reply

